Pismire Bluff- Raymond Community Forest

It was 23 degrees on the second Sunday in January of 2019 but that didn’t stop us from driving a quick 15 minutes to the Raymond Community Forest and taking a little hike up Pismire Mountain. And by little I mean a total elevation of 833 ft. and a gain of 360 ft. We began by walking northwest on Spiller Homestead Trail and there wasn’t but a cloud in the sky, I knew we were going to be able to see for miles. The trail had hardly been packed out which was surprising since our last snowfall was around the start of the week. Early on I noticed the rhythm of the crunching snow beneath my feet was the exact same beat as my heart, big bare birch trees were dripping with melting snow adding to the tune. I began to settle into my being as the sun warmed me from within, the sounds and smells of the cold, crisp air further deepening my connections, appreciating the chilling cold we’ve been facing. As we walked on after a tenth of a mile Pismire Bluff Trail enters on our right.

I took notice to River’s energy- curiously playful at magnitudes he normally doesn’t reach, he’s generally conservative with his energy. I wondered if he knew this was a short, close to home forest bathing experience. In case you were wondering River is my 6 year old shepherd, husky, lab mix.

After turning right we followed Pismire Bluff trail heading northeast crossing a road, I made sure to keep River in control until after this crossing then he had as much lead as he wanted. As we continued through the bare hardwood forests I wondered what this place would look and sound like in the coming months, green leaves growing, birds singing beautiful songs. I stopped to look at how far the eye could see with no leaves on the trees and hoped something deep in the forest would catch my eye, nothing.

River and I carried on up the trail, taking deep, mindful breaths. I could see on my left the talus slope in which we were about traverse once we made a hairpin turn, ultimately leading to a set of beautifully crafted snow-covered stone steps a little ways before the switchbacks begin.  I almost missed them but thankfully towards the top a few had been brushed clear from the hikers before me I assume. As always I stopped to give thanks towards the individuals for their hard work and gift of time, then we carried on. Pismire Bluff trail begins to switchback, moderately climbing until we reached a junction at .7 miles with Highlands Loop leading to our right. River knew exactly where he wanted to go- to the lookout of Pismire Bluff of course. 0113191344146281196.jpgThe trail to this point may seem a little steep at times but the switchbacks made quick and easy work of the gain. It was a short .1 mile jaunt to the lookout and WOW, we were not ready for the sights we got to see! Directly to the front is gorgeous, frozen Crescent Lake with just a few ice shacks speckled in the coves and a great view of Rattlesnake Mountain is also awarded. 0113191427b~2On a clear day such as this one we were able to see all the way to Mount Washington and the southern Presidentals. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I watched as the clouds rolled into the Mount Washington valley and then engulfing the mountain entirely before the mountain was free again. I could only imagine how cold and windy it was up there on this day. I took in the sights, smells and sounds and stopped for a moment to let the sun kiss my face. I wish I had packed a lunch, duly noted for next time.

0113191358b~2After we got our fill of the sights, smells, sun and solitude we made our way back and stopped for a quick moment at the trail junction with Homestead Loop. In a fast decision we decided to go for it, there was still a few hours of daylight, I was warm and comfortable, River was happier than can be and I wanted to see what else lies within this preserved forest. Homestead Loop begins with an easy grade decent leveling back out after about a tenth of a mile. It loops around the edge of the properties boundary in a forest of young birch trees. Before ascending the small gain back up to Pismire Bluff we saw a bunch of birch bracket mushrooms perfectly frozen and preserved in time, these are an edible variety.0113191411~2

Once we made it back to the junction for the third time we continued down the trail and to the car. An easy decent for the views and solitude we were rewarded with. 10/10 will do it again and I can’t wait to see this place in the summer.0113191353a~2

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.